St. Patrick’s Day Breakfast

IMG_2005

This post is super late, but if you’re last minute like me I hope it can be super inspiring.  As you know, I like to celebrate holidays with my kids by making them a special breakfast.  From holiday themed tableware to holiday themed food, I try to make it pretty special for them.  Last year, we celebrated St. Patrick’s day with a breakfast from “Lucky the Leprechaun” and a scavenger hunt for his pot of gold.

“Lucky” left them a bag of Lucky Charms cereal which could be eaten then or saved as a snack for later.

IMG_2002

I made them a Pot of Gold at the End of a Rainbow.  For the rainbow I used strawberries, cantaloupe, pineapple, green grapes, blueberries, and purple grapes.  I used powdered donuts for the clouds, a pancake cut to make a pot, and scrambled eggs for the gold.

IMG_1999

They also got milk which I colored green with a tiny bit of green food coloring and a paper straw with a couple of fruit loops to make a rainbow.

IMG_2001

IMG_2007

In the center of the table were some gold coins and the first clue to begin the scavenger hunt for the pot of gold.

IMG_2006

Madison read the clues which had the girls scrambling room to room.

IMG_2030

IMG_2031

IMG_2035

Until at last, the pot of gold was in the fridge.  They were rewarded with skittles and little chocolate coins as a treat.

IMG_2036

I enjoy making my children smile with these little breakfast treats, but these special breakfasts are truly a treat because they don’t get to eat Lucky Charms, Fruit Loops, donuts, and candy on a regular basis…although they’d love to!  I started the Lucky Charms tradition years ago, but wanted to add another element with the fruit.  Looking back at it now, it was a lot, but they had fun and made memories and that’s all the matters to me.  Now I’m off to set up tomorrow’s special breakfast.

HAPPY ST. PATTY’S DAY!!!!

IMG_2014IMG_2010IMG_2009

One thought on “St. Patrick’s Day Breakfast

Leave a comment