Rainbow Loom Birthday Party

IMG_8180

Morgan Paige is 7 years old!  

I.CANNOT.TAKE.IT!  

Someone please STOP this crazy train!  

Six was so fun, so I can’t wait to see what seven has in store.  

This time last year, Morgan was obsessed with two things:

1. Stuffed Animals

and

2. Rainbow Loom.  

She had a Teddy Bear Picnic for her sixth birthday to celebrate her love of stuffies, so this year she asked for a RAINBOW LOOM birthday party.  

For those of you who don’t know, Rainbow Loom is a plastic loom used to weave colorful rubber bands into bracelets and charms.

For this party, we went with all the colors of the RAINBOW in the decor.  All of the decorations were DIY and super easy to make.

I enlisted the kids to help with much of it and they really liked getting to craft with me.  

The cake table was once again the focal point of the party.  

We decided to go old school and link together strips of colored paper.  Do you remember doing this as a kid? The kids loved making these! I love that they totally resemble the Single Rainbow Loom bracelets!  

I usually cover the TV with decorated foam board, but this time I put a video tutorial on pause and used the intro image as the the backdrop.  Later in the party we played the tutorial so the guests could learn how to make a bracelet.  

IMG_8125

For the table, I used a simple white table cloth.  I got a great deal on these on Amazon.  They don’t wrinkle and they are easy to clean.  They are just the best!  And cheap too!  

For the banner on the front of the table, I used a simple colorful circle design along the top of each flag to resemble the tiny loom bands I find all over my house

The cake table featured “Rainbow Juice” also known as GATORADE in all the colors of the rainbow.  

I poured the Gatorade into these French Square Plastic Bottles from the TomKat Studio.  

Morgan and Madison made the bracelets that adorned the top of the bottles.  This was another DIY made by kids that made a nice impression and served as a small gift for the guests.

IMG_8155

Also featured on the table was “Loom Band” candy which was simply gummy ring shaped candy.  

IMG_8178

The sugar cookies were made by my wonderful cookie mama, Carrie Budke of AngelCakes in Rye, NY.  The simple chevron design on top of the cookies really popped against the white background and looked a lot like the Fishtail Rainbow Loom bracelets.  

IMG_8175

The cake was from Cerbone’s Bakery in Rye Brook, NY.  They decorated the outside of the cake with colorful circles to resemble the loom bands.  I asked them to make a plain white fondant circle for the top so I could decorate it with real loom bands and one of Morgan’s loom hooks.  

IMG_1367

To keep it a little on the healthy side, I made fruit cups with fruit in all colors of the rainbow and filled Chevron Rainbow Candy Cups with Skinny Pop Popcorn.  

IMG_8177

IMG_8176

Another cute touch was the dress form that I dressed with a rainbow tutu (tutu last seen here, dress form last seen here) and a rainbow loom belt and necklace that Morgan made.  

IMG_8179

In my dining area, I placed a bunch of colorful balloons above the table and a long chain of colored paper links on the sliding doors.  The long chain made a pretty backdrop for the table and the balloons always bring lots of drama and color to the space. 

 I kept the table decorations simple just using a small rainbow suitcase found on Amazon as a centerpiece and strands of rainbow chains from Oriental Trading that I spread down the middle of the table as a runner of sorts.  I also recycled the rainbow streamers on the chairs from Madison’s Arts and Crafts party a few years back.  

IMG_8153

Each place setting had a divided organizer full of Rainbow Loom rubber bands and a large foam letter sticker sitting on top.  The guests found their initial and started coloring a rainbow coloring page while waiting for everyone to arrive.

IMG_8151

IMG_8152

IMG_8160 IMG_1387 IMG_1386 IMG_1385 IMG_1382 IMG_1381 IMG_1383

After coloring, I brought out a bunch of foam and felt stickers and the kids went to town decorating and personalizing their new Rainbow Loom Band Organizers.  This was great because it not only served as the craft for the party, but also part of the party favor!  

IMG_1391 IMG_1397 IMG_1399 IMG_1400 IMG_1401 IMG_1402

In addition to the organizers, they also got a Monster Tail which is the new travel loom made by Rainbow Loom.

IMG_1364

After decorating the kits we headed to the living room floor and opened up the new Monster Tail kits.  I played a tutorial I found on YouTube which taught the girls how to make their first bracelet using the new Monster Tail Loom.  

Full Disclosure: It was a little difficult helping twelve girls loom for the first time!  If I had it to do again I would have enlisted the help of a few older girls.  

Here is my husband getting his loom on! So thankful he was able to help!

IMG_1408

My 8 year old was a big help too!  She picked up the pattern really quickly and was able to help teach some of the younger girls who were new to looming.

IMG_1410

The girls did a great job giving it a go and I hope they are having fun with their Monster Loom and new loom band organizer kits at home.

IMG_1407 IMG_1406 IMG_1405 IMG_1404 IMG_1403

After making bracelets (or trying to at least), we sang Happy Birthday and had cake and treats.  

IMG_8172 IMG_8171 IMG_8170

Morgan was so surprised to see the inside of the cake as we cut into it!

IMG_1428 IMG_1434

This was by far my easiest party to plan and throw.  I loved that the decorations were simple DIY projects that the kids could help with.  I also loved that I was able to incorporate the favors into the craft and main party activity.  It went really well and Morgan finally got to loom with her friends- something she has been wanting to do for quite some time.  

I leave you with a few more pics and a happy birthday wish for my sweet 7 year old, Morgan.  

I hope your birthday was all you wanted it to be.  Keep being crafty and creative! Never let anyone dull your sparkle!

XOXO,

MOMMY

IMG_1376 IMG_1378

3 thoughts on “Rainbow Loom Birthday Party

Leave a comment